The Wolf’s NRL Team Of The Year


NRL Betting

The Wolf has watched as much NRL as humanly possible this year and has come up with his team of the year.

1. James Tedesco (Tigers) – Averaged a remarkable 6.3 tackle breaks a game and despite playing just 17 games was one of three players with at least 12 tries and assists.

2. Jordan Rapana (Raiders) – Finished second in tryscoring and second in tackle breaks while only two backs had more run metres.

3. Joey Leilua (Raiders) – The only non-spine player to rank in the Top 20 for line break assists. There was no more destructive centre in the game.

4. Jarrod Croker (Raiders) – The NRL’s top pointscorer, Croker scored 16 tries and was the arguably the best defensive centre in the premiership.

5. Tom Trbojevic (Sea Eagles) – Ranked Top 5 in metres and line breaks and was the shining light on a very ordinary team.

6. James Maloney (Sharks) – His numbers don’t tell the story but Maloney was central to turning Cronulla’s fortunes around this season.

7. Cooper Cronk (Storm) – Led the NRL in try assists and also scored 11 tries while guiding the Storm to another minor premiership.

8. Jesse Bromwich (Storm) – Ranked Top 10 in total metres  while ranking sixth in offloads. He just gets better.

9. Josh Hodgson (Raiders) – Led all hookers in try assists with 16. Provided tremendous leadership to a young Raiders team.

10. Ryan James (Titans) – Broke the NRL-Era record for tries by a prop with 11. Devastating runner.

11. Elliot Whitehead (Raiders) – A tireless workhorse who finished fifth in tackles made with 37.6 per game, he was a subtly excellent attacking weapon whose six assists placed him second among running forwards.

12. Matt Gillett (Broncos) – Gillett elevated his game in 2016 from an already high base by tightening his defence and continually bending the line with the ball.

13. Jason Taumalolo (Cowboys) – There is no more destructive player in the NRL than the Cowboys lock who finished second in run metres and was one of just two forwards with 70 tackle busts.


NRL Futures