Turnbull, Tanya Tipped To Top Sexiest Pollie Poll


Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull has been on fire in the polls in 2015 and it could be about to get just a little bit hotter for the Member for Wentworth.

After his shock defeat to Greens MP Scott Ludlam last year, Turnbull is the hot favourite at $2.25 to regain his crown as Australia’s sexiest male politician in Crikey’s annual vote.

New boy on the block and Member for Canning, Andrew Hastie, remains Turnbull’s closest threat at $2.50, while Green’s Leader Richard Di Natale ($7) and Labor’s Jason Clare ($4) are the other challengers under double digits.

“Malcolm Turnbull has great form and style to boot. Add to that the fact that the four time winner is now our Prime Minister and he’s going to take some beating in 2015,” William Hill spokesperson Tim Ashworth said.

“Andrew Hastie has hit the ground running in his debut year, while Richard Di Natale looks value at $7.00 considering the Green’s Ludlum upset of 2014.”

Tanya Plibersek is the $2.00 favourite for sexiest female politician having taken out last year’s award. However, the Deputy Leader of the Labor Party faces stiff competition from her Liberal counterpart in Julie Bishop, who’s hot on her tails at $2.25.

“The female division is harder to split with it hard to take your eyes off the Plibersek and Bishop battle. Kate Ellis is a proven performer though and a past winner, while Larissa Water’s remains the Green’s best chance at taking out the top gong.”

Odds courtesy of William Hill

Sexiest Male Politician

$2.25   Malcolm Turnbull
$2.50   Andrew Hastie
$4.00   Jason Clare
$7.00   Richard Di Natale
$15      Cory Bernardi
$15      Christian Porter
$15      Scott Ludlam
$21      Tim Watts
$21      Scott Morrison
$21      Darren Chester
$34      Wyatt Roy
$51      Richard Marles
$51      Adam Bandt
$51      Nigel Scullion
$81      Ricky Muir

Sexiest Female Politician
$2.00   Tanya Plibersek
$2.25   Julie Bishop
$4.00   Larissa Waters
$11      Melissa Parke
$11      Kate Ellis
$26      Terri Butler
$34      Fiona Scott
$34      Sarah Hanson-Young
$34      Penny Wong
$34      Kelly ODwyer
$34      Katy Gallagher
$41      Bridget McKenzie
$51      Annastacia Palaszczuk
$51      Sussan Ley
$51      Cathy McGowan



 For requests for comment or further information, please contact:
Tim Ashworth
M: +61 422 012 116
E: Tim.Ashworth@WilliamHill.com.au